From Ed-DQAF Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

For the moment, this page lists African countries only. Each country name will allow access to a country page built on a page model. Countries are grouped according to the main regional economic communities (REC); some of these communities as Southern African development community (SADC) have their own regional education policies that shape each member country education system development strategies as well as the monitoring and evaluation mechanism for these strategies. One will find existing REC education strategies by following the REC name link.

Note: The name of counties with fact finding missions completed is uderlined.


African Union (AU)

The only all-African state not in the AU is Morocco.

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

  • Algeria
  • Libya
  • Mauritania
  • Tunisia

East African Community (EAC)

  • Burundi
  • Kenya
  • Rwanda
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)

  • Angola
  • Burundi
  • Cameron
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo, D. R.
  • Congo,R
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • Sao Tome and Principe

Cameron, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (R.), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe, altogether are members of the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (EMCCA)

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cape Verde
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Togo

Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo are the members of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU)

Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Uganda

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Congo, D.R.
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


  • 19 countries, mainly from western and central Africa are members of AFRISTAT (Observatoire Economique et Statistique d'Afrique Subsaharienne)
  • 20 of eastern and southern Africa are members of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  • 28 countries are members of the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)

See also

External links

Personal tools